need guy advice

Options
I'm trying to bulk up and gain some weight with muscle, I eat as clean as I can, don't like the idea of dirty bulking, don't want to gain back the fat I've lost, and I feel like I'm not doing my bench presses right

Replies

• karrysalexi
    karrysalexi Posts: 62 Member
    Options
    To get big you must eat big.
  • nerdygymrat9
    nerdygymrat9 Posts: 163 Member
    Options
    To get big you must eat big.

Not true, sorry Alexi as we've told you already. Dirty bulking basically means that you are in too large of a surplus with your calories. As long as your surplus is not too large so maybe 250-500 calories above maintenance, you should be able to gain muscle and not too much fat (that is what I am doing right now though I am pretty new to this lol). Bulking on all clean food is definitely difficult to do so it is okay to have not so "clean" foods when bulking (I have some ice cream every day) as long as you are able to hit your calorie goals and your macros for each day as best as you can.
  • dieselbyte
    dieselbyte Posts: 733 Member
    Options
    I'm trying to bulk up and gain some weight with muscle, I eat as clean as I can, don't like the idea of dirty bulking, don't want to gain back the fat I've lost, and I feel like I'm not doing my bench presses right

Eating "clean" in a bulk has nothing to do with whether you will gain fat or not. A clean bulk refers to a less aggressive surplus (250-500 calories over maintenance). Eat as clean as you want, but you'll still gain fat. A surplus of calories over time will lead to both muscle and fat gain, given you are lifting weights and training properly. As the poster above stated, if you are only eating micronutrient dense foods, or "clean" foods during your bulk, you may find it hard to hit your macro and caloric goals due to increased satiety. Bottom line, focus on your caloric intake, and stop worrying if certain foods will make you fat.
  • Brolympus
    Brolympus Posts: 360 Member