Stalling-sudden-drop phenomenon

Options
mommarnurse
mommarnurse Posts: 515 Member
edited May 2015 in Health and Weight Loss
So, I've been losing since 11 months ago. I've lost 55lbs so far (equals out to 1.25lbs a week) which, for the first 6 months was pretty steady and predictable. However, my loss since then has been something like this: stall at same weight for up to a month then sudden loss of 3 lbs in a day or two. Lose a couple more lb over the next week, then stall again for 2 weeks or more. The only coinciding factor I've managed to deduce is that when that started happening, I also sarted integrating a lot of strength training (not just cardio).

Does this happen to anyone else? It's frustrating to not understand the physiology of it and the internet has not sourced me an answer.

Replies

• mommarnurse
    Options
    It really messes with your mind, doesn't it? I wonder if it's because our bodies just do not want to give up the weight. Or maybe it's some water conversion increased muscle mass combo thing going on. Water molecules somehow are attatched to muscle.
  • bpetrosky
    bpetrosky Posts: 3,911 Member
    Options
    It's common, just about everyone who monitors closely observes it. It seems to be variations in water retention as the body uses fat stores. It's commonly called a "whoosh" by people who observe it.
  • TimothyFish
    TimothyFish Posts: 4,925 Member
    Options
    I read that this might have something to do with the use of glycogen. For every gram of glycogen, your body holds three grams of water. When your glycogen levels drop, your weight drops quickly. As they rebuild, your weight climbs or stalls.
  • barbecuesauce
    barbecuesauce Posts: 1,779 Member
    edited May 2015
    Options
    What I find strange is when the scale doesn't move for 2+ weeks but you lose a pants size. And then 2-3 pounds fall off as described above with NO change in clothing or appearance.