1760cals too low to lose weight?

luiscmartins
luiscmartins Posts: 4 Member
edited May 2015 in Health and Weight Loss
Hey there. First post here.

I have been working out and lifting weights for about 5 years with the intent of putting on weight. I had very good results since when I started I weighted 58Kg (128lbs) and I'm currently at 75Kg (165lbs). Since I am fairly young and never had the problem of putting on fat, I never really worried much about nutrition, so I ate pretty much everything I wanted in big quantities throughout the day just to make sure I had the right amount of food to grow. This philosophy worked good for my goal and I achieved very positive results.

However, my goals are now different, and for the first time during this journey, I decided to lose some weight, or "cut", as it is normally known, to lose the amount of fat that I have. I downloaded MyFitnessPal app because I think it will be helpful to track my calories. However, the app is telling me to go on a diet of 1760 calories to lose 0.5Kg (1lb) per week. Isn't this too low? I went to other different calculators and they estimate a diet of around 2300cals to lose the same amount of weight per week. Besides, MyFitnessPal doesn't seem to take into consideration the frequency and duration of my workouts for the calculation of the calories, even thou it asks for this information. Is the app to be trusted? Should I go this low on calories? My stats are below.

My stats are:
24 years old
75Kg
172cm (5'64ft) tall
13-15% body fat
4 or 5 intense weight-lifting workouts per week, about 90 to 120 minutes each.
Outside working out, my activity level is low, with a casual 1-2 hour walk every other day.

EDIT: I forgot to mention I'm a male!

Replies

• TNoire
    TNoire Posts: 642 Member
    If your a guy then yes min for guys is 1800 a day, girls a min of 1200
  • Kst76
    Kst76 Posts: 935 Member
    172 cm is not 5'6"... it's almost 5'8"
  • 999tigger
    999tigger Posts: 5,235 Member