Strength training - to buy a book or not

Options
ens102
ens102 Posts: 37 Member
I am trying to lose weight at present but really like the idea of lifting and being stronger, plus my husband is wanting to strength train for a tough mudder race. I have done body pump classes and a small amount of lifting with a personal trainer who has since left the gym. I was thinking about buying strong curves or the new rules of lifting but someone has suggested going for 5x5 strong lifts, I quite like the idea of this. Any advise for someone new to lifting or any recommendations before I give it a go? Any particularly good training programmes for complete beginners? I do have a knee injury but am ok with low impact workouts.

Replies

• Capt_Apollo
    Capt_Apollo Posts: 9,026 Member
    Options
    i like 5/3/1 better, but yeah, some literature will help.
  • ens102
    Options
    Care to elaborate?
  • elbaldwin0525
    elbaldwin0525 Posts: 159 Member
    Options
    ens102 wrote: »
    Care to elaborate?

Wendler's 5/3/1 program. its a strength program
  • beastmode_kitty
    beastmode_kitty Posts: 842 Member
    Options
    Stronglifts 5x5 is an amazing program! I downloaded the app and purchased the power pack that you can get with it. Great beginner lifter program IMO.
  • Hollywood_Porky
    Hollywood_Porky Posts: 491 Member
    Options
    Yeah I am transitioning to 5-3-1 - agreed with @Capt_Apollo. Although I haven't started it yet (start Monday), theoretically it looks like a better program. Emphasis on 4x/week lifting, compound lifting, and simple assistance lifts. I can see doing 20 min cardio post-workout being optimal for fat loss (as glycogen is depleted, cardio post-weights is the best form of fat burning available - so getting it 4x). Able to do two HIIT sessions on non-squat/deadlift days. Lots of literature on Amazon - Starting Strength is good but a ripoff of Bill Starr - but there's ton of literature out there.
  • arditarose