this is weird to me..

Options
MellowGa
MellowGa Posts: 1,305 Member
I can go play soccer for 2-3 hours every sunday...such a fantastic way to burn calories...

But when I do my ellipictal for only 20 min.....my feet go numb, or if I go for a 3 mile jog, around mile 2 my feet go numb.

So anyone got any clue to why a slow steady pace of running...such as jogging or elliptical...my feet go numb.....But running playing soccer almost doing HIIT for 2-3 hours.,...no issues at all.

any running guru's or PT's out there have any suggestions?

BTW I prefer sprinting, HIIT to long distance anyday!

Replies

• cowpoke06
    cowpoke06 Posts: 171
    Options
    The same thing happens to me sometimes! I'm curous to know as well
  • BeachLife76
    BeachLife76 Posts: 78 Member
    Options
    I'm not an expert, but maybe because when you're playing soccer, your feet are out in front of you at time when you kick the ball and you are moving more. When you are running or doing elliptical, you are pretty stationary and straight up and down so blood is rushing to your feet. I may be wrong, but thought I'd try and help :). Have a great day!
  • bcattoes
    bcattoes Posts: 17,299 Member
    Options
    One of my daughters and I both have the same problem. I always just assumed it was circulatory problems which tend to run in our family. But I don't get it when hiking or Zumba.
  • JennaM222
    JennaM222 Posts: 1,996 Member
    Options
    Happens to us all, only when I am on the eliptical however
  • ilsie99
    ilsie99 Posts: 259
    Options
    Jogging and sprinting are different, biomechanically speaking. Try to increase your cadence, even while keeping your pace slow.

You may also want to consider getting some running shoes that are more similar to your cleats, perhaps a lightweight racing flat.
  • scottb81
    scottb81 Posts: 2,538 Member
    Options