Why Have I Plateaued?

Options
I am a 5'6 142 pound female and I have been doing well with my diet and exercise routine until the past week. I've been doing this for about 1 months now and I started out at 154 pounds. Every week I lost at least 2 pounds but this past week I have not lost any weight. I eat 1,200 calories everyday and burn at least 500 calories at the gym 6 days a week. So why am I not losing anymore weight? Ps: my goal weight is 130 pounds.

Replies

• lishie_rebooted
    lishie_rebooted Posts: 2,973 Member
    Options
    That's not a plateau.
    weight loss isn't linear and isn't going to happen every week.
  • arditarose
    arditarose Posts: 15,575 Member
    Options
    It's been a week. You have not hit a plateau.
  • bigd66218
    bigd66218 Posts: 376 Member
    Options
    You are within 12 pounds of your goal weight, there will be weeks you will lose no weight. It's happen to me, but I stayed the course and I will hit my goal weight. Since January 1st, started at 278 now 224 goal weight of 218 my height is 6'6.5 " so I can't afford to lose more...I noticed from your post that you burn 500 or more calories a workout. I'm not sure what your workout is you may try to increase your cardio to burn more calories. With that you will need to increase your calories slightly may be include a protein drink after the workout.
  • lishie_rebooted
    lishie_rebooted Posts: 2,973 Member
    Options
    Also, with 12 lbs to go, you shouldn't have a 2lb/week deficit. Which I know you selected since you're eating at 1200 calories and I start with similar stats.

Adjust your expectations and calorie goal to 0.5#/week
  • malibu927
    malibu927 Posts: 17,565 Member
    Options
    You're about five weeks from a plateau, and already at a healthy weight. Change your goal to half a pound a week, log everything accurately, and be patient. It can take a long time for twelve pounds to come off.
  • snickerscharlie
    snickerscharlie Posts: 8,578 Member