How do you maintain a BMI of 18.5 or 110 lbs, if you are a 5'4" female?

Options
1235»

Replies

• Alassonde
    Alassonde Posts: 228 Member
    Options
    http://breakingmuscle.com/nutrition/dont-count-calories-to-lose-weight-the-body-fat-set-point-theory

I read this article, sort of. He lost my attention when he said that he looked at PubMed to find the research that proves 3500 calories equals one pound, and when he couldn't find it he decided it doesn't exist. Seems legit.
    Maybe I'm just expecting too much, since I have a master's degree in library science and all kinds of training in how to research......
  • runny111
    runny111 Posts: 58 Member
    Options
    Not 5'4", but 5'2" and 112-115 is my range (varies with my cycle). I get one hour of exercise a day and eat about 1500-1600cals a day on average.

Can you prep multiple meals in one go to fit in exercise a few times a week?

• runny111
    runny111 Posts: 58 Member
    Options
    And make sure you get protein at every meal (try for 20g), and try to stick to lean and green (lean protein and greens (fruit and veg) to get the losses going past the 125lbs mark. It is easier to maintain than lose. I've been maintaining for 2+ years.
  • Verdenal
    Verdenal Posts: 625 Member
    Options
    I'm 5'2" and 106 pounds. When I was younger, I weighed in the 90s and I'm trying to lose a few pounds. I take note of my BMI, but am much more focused on my body fat and muscle mass percentages. To lose weight on a gradual basis, as opposed to a limited extreme diet (which sometimes works for me), I have to eat 1,100 calories or less.
  • Timorous_Beastie
    Timorous_Beastie Posts: 595 Member
    Options
    I'm still scratching my head at only having time for exercise OR meal planning. I mean... whether you exercise or not, you still have to eat foods. It doesn't take any longer to prep/plan well-balanced food as eating willy-nilly.
  • Verdenal
    Options