Exercising with plantar fasciitis.

Options
2»

Replies

• cousindon
    cousindon Posts: 5 Member
    Options

I have tendonitis issues regularly (had to quit playing racquetball, ended up with a heel spur, don't dare use a hammer...) I joke that I chose the wrong grandparent. However, it's really not a laughing matter it's painful and very lifestyle limiting.

I agree with checking with a podiatrist. Also I try to stretch, especially in the evening before bed.

There are splits that you can put on your foot to keep the plantar fascia stretched during the night -- I could never get used to them. They help with keeping the tendon from contracting at night and eliminate that 'walking on broken glass feeling you get 1st thing in the morning.

Not that I'm a physician, but I've had good results with religiously dosing myself with ibuprofen. Every 4 hours except when I'm sleeping.
  • urloved33
    urloved33 Posts: 3,324 Member
    Options
    i just replaced my new balance sneakers with sauconey and in one days its gone.
  • BarbaraR5563
    BarbaraR5563 Posts: 115 Member
    Options
    I have a pretty active job at a hospital. I'm pretty much constantly on my feet from 8 til 5 with time out for lunch, but I'm crippled with plantar fasciitis to the point where I'm losing the will to exercise after work. Does anyone else suffer with this? I had a cortisone injection at the start of the year, and contemplating another just to ease the pain. :/

I suffer and I mean suffer from Morton's Neuroma. It is between the third and fourth toes. The nerves are sensitive and become super inflamed. I have seen a podiatrist. He has given me cortisone shots and they do nothing. The other option was surgery but he said that wouldn't really cure the pain.