PCOS has Entered the Game

Options
Hi, I'm Sam. Long story short, I've been overweight my whole life. I've never seen my adult body at a healthy weight. I've become so use to being chubby, it's a part of my core identity. I have lost weight before; about 30 pounds when I was in Weight Watchers. In eighth grade...

I've been recently diagnosed with PCOS (Poly-cystic Ovarian Syndrome). This means that I have a hormone imbalance which causes me to have insulin resistance, which leads to weight gain. I gained a lot of weight REALLY fast. I've gained about 25-30 pounds within the past year. My doctor told me in order to lose weight and manage my disorder I HAD to shed the weight or my condition could become much more severe. I am currently on my first day of my low glycemic index / low-carb "diet" that I will have to maintain for the rest of my life. Not to mention I'm getting married next April, and I wanna look smokin hot.

So, yea. That's why I'm here. :p Nice to meet you! I'd love to connect with other PCOS sufferers or anybody who needs a buddy! :)

Replies

• zonkiethegreat
    zonkiethegreat Posts: 15 Member
    Options
    Hi Sam! I think you and I have shared the same experiences, I also lost a lot weight (about 20-25 lbs) when I was in 8th grade, with help form a nutritionist. AND I'm also getting married next April!!! April 17th to be exact! :)

I gained 30 pounds in one year and am now the heaviest I've ever been, and I don't even eat that much....I also have been diagnosed with PCOS.....and it SUCKS. But I am confident that with exercise and eating right, we CAN DO IT! :smiley:
  • SamShepard2015
    SamShepard2015 Posts: 9 Member
    Options
    That's crazy!! We're body buddies! Haha Congratulations on the engagement. Our date is set for April 2nd :) How long have you been diagnosed with pcos for? It's still a little scary for me since I just don't know what to expect.
  • ashroz88
    ashroz88 Posts: 1 Member
    Options