Joining the Marines and need help.

Options
I'm kinda new to this but, I am joining the marines come July and I am looking to lose weight but also get muscle. I am 5'9" and weigh about 180lbs. I'm on the "chubby-ish" side but I am also active. I work about 30hrs. a week and play soccer every weekend. How could I go about losing weight but gaining muscle? I've been thinking about using protein powder/shakes. & I also am going to join a gym. Tips?

Replies

• zaxx1953
    zaxx1953 Posts: 389 Member
    Options
    Look up HIIT. Perform HIIT 3-4 times a week in addition to your soccer; it doesn't take much time and can be performed with a jump rope.

Look up Mark Rippletoes Starting Strength and do it.

If you join a gym, join one with more than 1 squat rack if possible.

Eat something like a 45/30/25 diet where the breakdown is 45 percent of your calories come from carbs (skewed earlier in the day), 30 percent come from protein (shakes are great for post workouts), and 25 percent comes from fats bc they taste good and make your testosterone flow lol.

That is my advice....google can take it from here.

Thank you for your service by the way!

• deleonjoshua
    deleonjoshua Posts: 4 Member
    Options
    Zaxx1953 Thanks for the info. I appreciate it.
  • nvmomketo
    nvmomketo Posts: 12,019 Member
    Options
    P90X. Great program. Cut your calories so you are at a deficit but not a large one.
  • Mr_Knight
    Mr_Knight Posts: 9,532 Member
    Options
    You need to eat less.

And...it already is July. Are you talking about being ready in two weeks, or 12 months?
  • usmcmp
    usmcmp Posts: 21,220 Member
    Options
    Calorie deficit, running and pull ups (you'll need those to pass the fitness test). You can get a waiver to go in if you are overweight, but you have to be able to pass the fitness tests.
  • SFCStank
    SFCStank Posts: 25 Member
    edited July 2015
    Options