Can't keep up with people in gym classes

Options
2»

Replies

• lseed87
    lseed87 Posts: 1,110 Member
    Options
    Mostly. Go at own pace! It just matters that you're actually doing it. And you will keep getting better. Who knows, someone there might be trying to keep up with you!
  • lorrpb
    lorrpb Posts: 11,464 Member
    Options
    When you first started going to a gym class, could you keep up with everyone?

No! Even after 3 months I barely keep up. But some people are very fit and have been working out for years. Me, a year ago I could barely walk upy own driveway. So I try focus only own progress.
  • lorrpb
    Options
    ninerbuff wrote: »
    Being an instructor, people sometimes get overzealous on their choices of classes.
    I understand what you're trying to say, but as a relative newbie my frustration is that there are very offerings for true beginners.

• lorrpb
    Options
    Should say: Very few offerings
  • oh_happy_day
    oh_happy_day Posts: 1,138 Member
    Options
    ninerbuff wrote: »
    Being an instructor, people sometimes get overzealous on their choices of classes. Many times they take classes that have the fittest people because that's their goal. Unfortunately those members may have been doing this for a long time, so it's not uncommon for newbies to come in an not be accustomed to the speed or format. Repetition is important though. If you're consistent, you'll catch on. Stay at the back of the room so you can observe better and make sure to try to practice some on your own time.

A.C.E. Certified Personal and Group Fitness Trainer
    IDEA Fitness member
    Kickboxing Certified Instructor
    Been in fitness for 30 years and have studied kinesiology and nutrition

9285851.png