Feeling Satisfied on a Low-Calorie Diet?

Options
Hi folks,

MFP newbie here - nice to meet y'all!

First, just some background info - I've been working on losing weight for a while, lost about 15-20 lbs but have gotten stuck on a plateau for the past 3-4 months. I work out 2 days a week with a trainer, 2 or 3 other days by myself, usually about 30 min cardio and 30 min weight training. I have been eating about 1500 calories a day + exercise calories.

Recently I calculated my TDEE on a couple different tools and found out that it's only 1700 cal/day, so I dropped down to 1200 calories ( + eating back cals on days I exercise). My TDEE / calorie needs are so low because I'm only 5ft tall and petite (but my BF% is 29, so I definitely need to cut. Ideally want to get down to about 20%).

--
TLDR; I'm small so my calorie needs are low and I need to eat a very small amount of food to lose weight.

So my question is: does anyone have tips for foods that will help me feel full on this limited calorie "budget"? I've been eating 1200 + exercise calories for about a week and I feel constantly hungry and like my blood sugar is low. I eat mostly vegetarian, I do eat some eggs and cheese, and fish about once a week.

Here's an typical meal plan for me on a rest day:

Breakfast
1/3 cup oats microwaved w/ 1 cup soy milk, tbsp chia seeds, cup soy milk, + berries or other fruit
283 cals

Lunch
Amy's Veggie Burger w/ 2 servings steamed broccoli, 1/2 cup brown rice
378 cals

Snack
NuGo Slim Bar
180 cals

Dinner
6 oz Lite Tofu stirfried with veggies, 2tbsp peanut sauce and a sweet potato
266 cals

Total: 1107 cals; I usually eat another small 100 cal snack like a popsicle or popcorn, etc. before bed.

Any tips on how to feel fuller longer on this amount of cals?

Replies

• mbaker566
    mbaker566 Posts: 11,233 Member
    Options
    I eat about 1400 with exercise calories added
    protein and fiber keep me full longer.
    and bananas also keep me full.