Binge Eating

Options
My name is Bee, I've used mfp before and was able to lose 15lbs, which I've gained back 10 of those. I'm 26 and work shift work 12hr day&night shifts.
I read a blog on here recently about binge eating, I can say I fit into all the categories, everything. Eating in secret, uncontrollable eating and then feeling disgusted with myself, etc.
The blog post did have tips, I think my biggest step has been identifying I am a binge eater.
Anyone else have tips? Or has gone through this realization?
Thanks!

Replies

• FitPhillygirl
    FitPhillygirl Posts: 7,124 Member
    Options
    I have never gone through this. But as a nurse I can tell you there are groups that you could seek out that will help you overcome this eating disorder. That said, I know how hard it is working those types of hours and trying to fit good eating habits in with your schedule.
  • wendy75_512
    wendy75_512 Posts: 21 Member
    Options
    I struggle with binge eating as well. Feel free to add me.
  • vt0138
    vt0138 Posts: 1 Member
    Options
    Hey Bee
    I have been in your shoes for a long time (but I am still constantly afraid of going back to those " dark" days), so I feel you.
    My experience is that I had those days when I was really stressed about other things. With time, I learned to manage time/work/stress better and that ended those "dark times" for me.
    I know everyone is busy, but try to incorporate some free/leisure time in your schedule and see if it helps. It helped me a lot just taking a step back from the daily grind. Right now, whenever I feel like I am getting stressed, I step back from everything and it helps.
    Know that you are not alone. Admitting to having this issue is a big step, so kudos to you! And good luck!
  • fishcat123
    fishcat123 Posts: 74 Member
    Options