Gym intimidation

Options
ive been exercising at home for the past 3 months and have lost 42lbs so far all on my own. I really want to join a gym, but it feels so daunting. I have a lot of social anxiety and am rather. Introverted. Does anyone else feel this way? Suggestions?

Replies

• cwolfman13
    cwolfman13 Posts: 41,867 Member
    Options
    1 - why do you want to join a gym?

2 - pretty much everyone in the gym is there to work...i am only generally aware that there are other people around me...I certainly don't have the time or inclination to sit their and watch them or judge them or whatever people worry about here (this comes up a lot).

3 - in most gyms, the majority will be in the same or similar position as you...yes, there are fit people in the gym...but there are more people just trying to get fit and healthy and lose weight...you're in good company
  • Cchioles
    Cchioles Posts: 276 Member
    edited August 2015
    Options
    Ahhh The Big Scary Gym.. You Need To Remember You Are There For You. There Are Going To Be Super Fit People There, And Not So Fit, DO NOT COMPARE! Biggest Mistake is Going To The Gym And Comparing Yourself To The People There.. They Do NOT Matter... You Are There For You To Reach Your Own Goals And If You're Not As Fit Or As Strong As The Next Person Who Cares? So Prepare Yourself For That And Be Ready To Tell Yourself Just That..
  • jemhh
    jemhh Posts: 14,261 Member
    Options