Heel Spur--no relief!

Options
I have an awful heel spur--not a bone spur, just pain in my heel. I have changed my shoes and bought heel support inserts, but does anyone have any other advice for this god awful pain? Thanks in advance.

Replies

• strandedeyes
    strandedeyes Posts: 392 Member
    Options
    ice it...take a bottle of water and freeze it and then roll your foot back and forth on it...

wear sturdy shoes all day long (this is the toughy for me but its what the doctor said i should do)

see a doctor
  • tammyquinnlmt
    tammyquinnlmt Posts: 680 Member
    Options
    You may have plantar's fasciitis. I have it. I am a massage therapist and getting someone to release the trigger points in the calf really helps. I also use Kiniso tape to support it. I finally bought some Vibram five finger shoes which will help to support the foot and stregthen it. You can also go to a podiatrists and get a custom fit orthotic...but I'm trying to avoid that. I also aternate ice and heat in order to help the body flush out the inflammation. Hope this helps!
  • SUNSHINE1191
    SUNSHINE1191 Posts: 2 Member
    Options
    See a podiatrist. I ran a 5k last March and immediately started to have heel pain which I ignored till July. The pain became unbearable and affected my exercising and my training my dogs, they are agility dogs. By waiting so long for treatment I ended up having surgery in November. I tried several rounds of steroid shots but unfortunately they didn't work. I am still under treatment for my foot and expect to be for the next 8 months. Please don't ignore the pain like I did. If I had sought treatment sooner I would not have had to have surgery. Good Luck.
  • janesmith1
    janesmith1 Posts: 1,511 Member
    Options
    crocs & take either of these brands for supplements: Solgar Glucosamine & Chondroitin / or Schiff Glucosamine & Chondroitin.

I have plantar fasciitis / heel spurs, I found this all out at heelspurs.com