How should I eat when working third shift?

Options
I work in a hospital and my shift starts at 7pm and ends at 7am.... Right now, I eat breakfast at 6thirty in the morning ...I workout as soon as I get off until 9am... Go home sleep from 10 am until 5pm... Then I have dinner at midnight.... Believe it or not I've lost weight on this schedule but I know it isn't the healthiest thing to do...does anyone have any ideas ???

Replies

• ariana_eatsandlifts
    ariana_eatsandlifts Posts: 197 Member
    Options
    How is it not healthy? You're basically doing what other people do... just at different times because of your work schedule. If it's working, I say don't mess with it as long as you're getting exercise and the proper nutrition.
  • Phoenix_Down
    Phoenix_Down Posts: 530 Member
    Options
    It's not unhealthy? Meal timing is all about the individual. As long as you're staying within your calories and eating moderately healthy, you're golden. Eat when it is best for you.
  • DLMitch22
    DLMitch22 Posts: 47 Member
    Options
    Hey thanks for the reply and yeah I was just worried about it because I was skipping meals. I don't eat lunch nor do I have snacks. Thanks again
  • Phoenix_Down
    Phoenix_Down Posts: 530 Member
    edited October 2015
    Options
    No problem! I typically wake up at 6 am and don't eat until 11am or later, mostly because I'm not hungry until then. Definitely don't force yourself into meal times simply for the fact, if it's working for you, stick to it.

I know there's that much touted myth about meal timing and metabolism but it really doesn't matter, as long as you're giving your body the energy to function properly, in whatever timing that may be :)
  • jennifer_417
    jennifer_417 Posts: 12,344 Member
    Options