Are we allowed to have cheat days?

Options
Hey I'm new to this!!! So I am on a 1500 cal diet according to mfp. I was looking up my fave dish from Texas Roadhouse and holy *kitten* it's like almost a days worth of calories! So are we allowed to eat this on a rare occasion or should we not ever eat that kind of stuff???

Replies

• DisneyDude85
    DisneyDude85 Posts: 428 Member
    edited October 2015
    Options
    Why not just eat half of the meal? The reason the calorie count is so high is because restaurant portions are massive! Ask for a to-go container upfront and box up half before you start eating :) Then eat slowly and deliberately, savoring each and every bite, and be sure to put your fork down between bites. Also, don't eat in silence. Go with a friend and have good conversation. This always helps me eat slower. :) Try and drink a glass of water before the meal comes also.
  • GradatimFerociter
    GradatimFerociter Posts: 296 Member
    Options
    Ideally the changes you are making will form the basis for a lifestyle change. As such, unless you think it realistic that you will never want to eat out with your friends again (for example) you should allow yourself to "cheat" but don't think of it like cheating. You don't have to do everything optimally to succeed and an unhealthy attitude towards restriction will (usually) effect your failure.
  • ASKyle
    ASKyle Posts: 1,475 Member
    Options
    You can eat whatever you like, but now you have the knowledge that this entree is a days worth of food, and it's up to you to decide if it's worth it or not.

There are ways to deal with this. Get some exercise that morning to burn off extra calories. Some people "bank" calories during the week to eat on the weekend, and go by a weekly calorie goal instead of the daily one. Personally, I've found this to be a great way to maintain.
  • Azexas
    Azexas Posts: 4,334 Member
    Options