Signing up for an expensive training program as a grad student

Options
Hi folks--

I need some feedback. I've been working hard on improving my fitness, but I have a hard time keeping commitments without being accountable to someone else. In the past, I've had success doing training programs. I found one where I moved for graduate school, but it costs $600 for four months, meeting twice a week. However, I'm likely to find a cycling community (I'm a cyclist) and folks to ride with, which I've struggled to do since I moved four months ago.

I have a hard time spending money on myself and I'm a poor doctoral student, so I don't have much money to spend. I did a pro and con analysis, and the cons are purely centered on the money piece.

What do you folks think about this? Would you do it? Has anyone found that signing up for a program like this was productive? Non-productive?

Thanks.

Replies

• tulips_and_tea
    tulips_and_tea Posts: 5,715 Member
    Options
    I don't have a problem spending money on myself as long as I can afford it, but personally, $600 for 4 months seems a bit steep. I do think signing up for programs or challenges are helpful and keep you accountable, but not necessarily a good idea if it leaves you in debt.

Try again to find a cycling group first or maybe organize your own accountability group with people you go to school with or work with first. If not, then try the program and hopefully it will propel you for a while after that because if not, what will you do after those 4 months?
  • nutmegoreo
    nutmegoreo Posts: 15,532 Member
    edited November 2015
    Options
    Is there any groups on Meetup.com in your area? Sometimes the site can help you access people and groups you didn't know existed in the area, and it would be people with similar interests, so the awkward first meeting is much easier.
  • jemhh
    jemhh Posts: 14,261 Member
    Options