Couch to 5K?

Options
Anyone try it? Any luck? And advice?

I have been losing slowly and took a small break for the last two months. Gained some back BUT I am back on track. The wife has finally decided to lose weight, good for her!! Looking to get the whole family doing the Couch to 5k thing.

Any pointers?

Ted

Replies

• mkakids
    mkakids Posts: 1,913 Member
    Options
    I started running a few years ago with c25k. It's a great program! Introduced me to running, which I found I throughly enjoy.
  • PeachyCarol
    PeachyCarol Posts: 8,029 Member
    Options
    It's a brilliant program!

A few tips... run slow and walk fast! Your run and walk pace should be fairly close. Don't be afraid to repeat days or weeks if you need to.

Running is a gait, not a speed. Speed comes with time. Learning to run is all about building endurance first. Don't worry about fast. Worry about form.

Give it a go and enjoy!
  • snikkins
    snikkins Posts: 1,282 Member
    Options
    I also started running with the program. My advice: 1.) Don't go too fast; 2.) Make sure to take rest days; 3.) Good running shoes are not to be underrated; 4.) Have fun!
  • MelaniaTrump
    MelaniaTrump Posts: 2,694 Member
    Options
    Make doctors appointments? That way you can know your cholesterol and BP numbers also (free w/ insurance). Great motivator to get healthy. Take before pictures so you can post here your success.
  • AshleyinSTL
    AshleyinSTL Posts: 3 Member
    Options
    I completed the program and thought it was great. By the end, I was jogging for 30 minutes straight, but I was nowhere near 5 kilometers. That was pretty disappointing. Then I injured my hip, so I had to stop for a while, but when I start again, I'll have to work on my speed.
  • pichu318
    pichu318 Posts: 172 Member
    Options