Tips for Adding Friends. Your Suggestions Welcome.

Options
2»

Replies

• minizebu
    minizebu Posts: 2,716 Member
    Options
    It's that time of year again when there is a large influx of new MFP members posting in the "Introduce Yourself" forum.

This might come in handy for folks who'd like their posts to stand out a bit more.

5) Originality and/or humor attract attention, at least they attract my attention. Try to come up with a thread title that is a bit more ambitious than "Hi, I'm new here." (Just don't violate #4, above.)
  • minizebu
    Options
    Bump
  • minizebu
    Options
    Bump
  • Clobern80
    Clobern80 Posts: 714 Member
    edited December 2015
    Options
    Well... I'm new to the "community" aspect of MFP.. but what I've already learned is this. I will not becollected. If I look on your profile & your a dude, & 46 out of your 48 friends are women.. no thanks. I'm all set. Other than that, I just want to talk to people who want to be healthy like me.

While I COMPLETELY understand your reasoning here, I find it difficult to find many guys who want to friend me. I have as many as will accept my request (who are looking) and as many have sent me requests on their own. There seem to be a large proportion of females to males who are willing to send/accept requests.

If there were more guys who were as motivated to accept another guys request, I don't think it would be such a big deal.

Also, for me, I have quite a few friends but I also try to motivate and seek motivation. People who are not my friends may not see that and think I'm just adding to an arbitrary number that really means nothing. I go through and clean up my friends list whenever people stop logging in and I like to replace those with people who are currently active. It's a never-ending cycle.

Point being, can't always judge a book by the cover. You may assume something that isn't true and lose out on a great friendship/motivator.
  • bigplantnerd