Tall Girl Problems--Squats

Options
I'm tall to begin with but have really long legs. I've NEVER felt the burn in my booty when doing squats. Knees? Yes. Mid thigh? Sometimes if I'm really workin it. But hips and buns? I didn't even know that's what squats supposed to do until recently! And all of my trainers are short. How do you tall people make squats work for you?

Replies

• girlalmighty08
    girlalmighty08 Posts: 130 Member
    Options
    I'm no expert but maybe it's your form as opposed to your height that is the problem. Are you keeping an open chest and sitting back as opposed to bending forward? And pushing up through your heels while squeezing your bum?
  • CarlydogsMom
    CarlydogsMom Posts: 645 Member
    Options
    More information needed--do you squat with weights? Barbell or dumbbell? Do you "go deep" (i.e. hip joint at or below knee joint)? I'm tall too, pear-shape (so lots of fat but decently strong thighs to begin with), but starting out, squats killed me. Even if you do the above (weights, depth [with our without weights]), your overall form may also be telling. Knees track the line of your feet without caving in? Back straight/neutral?
  • WickedPineapple
    WickedPineapple Posts: 701 Member
    Options
    I'm not sure it has anything due to height. I'm short, and I don't really feel it in my butt either (although I will get DOMS in my glutes). I'm pretty new to weighted squatting, but I feel it mostly in my hamstrings. I assumed that was because my hams were not up to par with the other muscles in my legs and butt.
  • quiksylver296
    quiksylver296 Posts: 28,442 Member
    Options
  • ameyer7487
    ameyer7487 Posts: 27 Member
    Options
    I'm 5'9" and have never felt it in my booty, just legs and thighs. I have been doing weighted squats lately and I still don't feel it. I never considered it to be due to height, though.
  • Makingachangeforlife
    Options