Easy bread recipes?

Options
Francl27
Francl27 Posts: 26,371 Member
I've been on a baking kick lately. Does anyone have any easy bread recipe to share? Can be any kind (sweet bread too, although I already have a good brioche recipe). Just tired of spending money buying bread when I can make some better one at home (there's some proofing right now but it's my first attempt so I'm not making any promises).

I don't have a bread machine but I have a KitchenAid.

Replies

• mpat81
    mpat81 Posts: 351 Member
    Options
    3 cups self rising flour, 12 oz beer, 1/3 cup sugar. Mix together and bake at 350 for 55 minutes, brush with melted butter near the end. Beer Bread!! Not great for sandwiches but perfect alongside soup or topped with a fried egg for breakfast. You can add cheese or herbs too to make different flavors. Cheddar and dill are a great combo!
  • jemhh
    jemhh Posts: 14,261 Member
    Options
  • grinning_chick
    grinning_chick Posts: 765 Member
    edited January 2016
    Options
    This is the recipe I use for toast/sandwiches. I don't split the dough, though. I just use a two quart Pyrex casserole/bowl to bake it in.

http://www.alexandracooks.com/2012/11/07/my-mothers-peasant-bread-the-best-easiest-bread-you-will-ever-make/
  • Francl27
    Options
    Thanks! Tried one last night and it ended up flat. Don't really want something that needs hours to rise though. Guess I need to buy some baking dishes....
  • AngryViking1970
    AngryViking1970 Posts: 2,847 Member
    Options
    This is the recipe I use for toast/sandwiches. I don't split the dough, though. I just use a two quart Pyrex casserole/bowl to bake it in.

http://www.alexandracooks.com/2012/11/07/my-mothers-peasant-bread-the-best-easiest-bread-you-will-ever-make/

Yes! That bread is fantastic, as is her oatmeal toasting bread; it's my son's favorite.

http://www.alexandracooks.com/2012/07/07/no-knead-oatmeal-toasting-bread/
  • yoga_mel
    yoga_mel Posts: 76 Member