skipping thru C25K?

Options
So I started doing c25k two days ago, I've been doing cardio at the gym for a few months now (though I don't go often) so I'm not super out of shape, but I'm definitely out of shape to a good extent LOL.

Anyway, yesterday, the first day, was pretty easy. Today me and my mom did day 2, it was easier than before for me (she couldn't run all of it though so I slowed down if she needed). After we did day 2 we took a 5-10 minute break sitting on a bench and decided to try day 3. We did it and she was able to do all the runs, it was great. We were out of breath but could hold a conversation pretty well.

My question is, will it be okay to do 2+ days together, one after another? As long as no injuries occur and we don't push too hard. Is there any reason not to? I've only been able to find answers on repeating days/weeks. Which I may have to do when it gets harder. Like tomorrow the time increases.

Thanks!

Replies

• JoshuaMcAllister
    JoshuaMcAllister Posts: 500 Member
    edited January 2016
    Options
    Hey.
    Great to hear your getting into running, several years ago I used the c210k plan to kick start my running and have since ran many half and a couple marathons.

Its not really advisable to do double days, for now it may seem easy but there are several factors to consider. Firstly you've yet to have your rest day, believe me the double session may have felt easy but if your muscle fibres aren't used to working in this way I'd put money on the two of you being pretty stiff in the morning or at least more so than you would had you done a single session which may effect the next days session. Its always important to remember that rest days are just as important as training days as they give your muscles a chance to rebuild.