Protein Powder?

Options
I've noticed I'm consistently not meeting my protein goals. I don't eat very much meat - it's expensive and I'm a struggling student - so I try to supplement with beans, lentils, etc. When I do get a chance to eat meant it's usually chicken or fish.

I'd like to find a way to up my protein intake and I was thinking - I drink a smoothie every morning, and wondered if adding protein powder to this was a good idea? My brothers who are always working out and trying to up their weights have told me if I add protein without working out more I'll gain weight. HELP??

Also, for those interested, this is my favourite smoothie ever:

1 cup berries (1/2 cup raspberries, 1/2 cup mixed sour cherry berries)
1/2 cup peach juice
1 cup 1% milk
1 cup spinach

Replies

• usmcmp
    usmcmp Posts: 21,220 Member
    Options
    Protein powder will not make you gain weight if your calories are within your goal, whether you are working out or not. Protein powder is made to help people meet their protein needs if they fall short. Your brothers are wrong.
  • upoffthemat
    upoffthemat Posts: 679 Member
    Options
    Protein powder does have calories and you have to count them, but they aren't any worse than other calories
  • Dreysander
    Dreysander Posts: 294 Member
    Options
    I eat protein powder in my oatmeal every morning. I started using it because, like you, I don't eat a whole lot of meat and my chickens' egg production slowed down because it's winter. Protein powder is a good inexpensive, delicious option. Just factor it into your calories.

If you're going to put it in oatmeal mix it with a tiny bit of water to make a paste, then add to cooked oatmeal.
  • Angelfire365
    Angelfire365 Posts: 803 Member
    Options