28 days in / 20 pounds down / Love MFP and have learned a lot!! Changing my life!!

Options
zgiarc
zgiarc Posts: 58 Member
My story is similar to a lot of others. I had been skinny most of my life and was a college athlete. Once I graduated and got married, I quit exercising and gained 40+ pounds the first winter. I managed over time to lose most of it, but I would always gain it back. The past couple of years I've spent time chasing my 3 kids and caring for elderly parents. Next thing you know, I have doubled my weight from college and was quickly approaching 300 pounds. I had experienced a couple of serious health related issues over the past couple of years as warning shots. In true denial, I ignored them and kept trucking down the same path. My biggest food issue was probably soda. I would easily drink 80+ ounces of Coke per day and would eat whenever I was hungry. I felt miserable, looked miserable, and acted miserable.

My wife had been nudging me to start taking better care of myself for a couple of years, but I ignored her. Finally, when dealing with the last couple months of my mothers decline the weight of it all hit me hard. I was burning the candle at 3 ends like I have most of my life. I was working, following my kids games, and organizing mom's care. I completely ran out of gas for the first time in my life. After my mom passed I went to the Dr. and my weight had gotten to 295!!! I had both ears infected, a major sinus infection, and was diagnosed with exhaustion. My Dr. spent probably 30 minutes talking with me that if I wanted to live too many more years I had to change - dramatically and quickly!