Calorie Counting/Weight Loss Help for a Beginner

Options
I am new to the counting calories game. I got my Fitbit for Christmas and just starting logging my meals and exercise then. My goal is to lose 10-15 pounds.

For exercise I am running 3-4 miles 3 times per week, plus a longer run on Saturdays as well as one day of cross training (following a half marathon training schedule). Looking back over my food log, I'm currently eating about 1,000 calories per day over 3 meals/snacks. Since I'm so new to the calorie counting part of this, I've just been limiting myself to whatever a "serving" is of what I'm eating. For example, I have an English muffin for breakfast with 2 tablespoons of peanut butter (a serving size) and I'm logging those calories. Same goes for my remaining meals for the day.

I'm logging everything I eat, drink and all of my workouts, but I haven't seen any physical change--weight loss or otherwise. It's been about a month so I'm wondering if I'm doing something wrong? I've definitely increase my exercise (by a lot!) and have decreased the actual amount of food I'm taking in so I was figuring I'd see some sort of result by now!

Replies

• janejellyroll
    janejellyroll Posts: 25,763 Member
    edited January 2016
    Options
    The fact that you mentioned "tablespoons" as a unit of measure makes me think you are not weighing food. Is this the case?

When I switched to weighing my foods, I found I had been eating much more than I thought I was. For example, what I *thought* was one serving (2 tablespoons) of peanut butter was more like 1.5-2 servings in actual weight. And I was being careful with my measuring! You could be eating much more than 1,000 calories.

Also, people who are new to exercise often retain water in their muscles while their body gets used to the new level of activity. This could make it look like you haven't lost weight when you have lost some fat.
  • jenniferfultz14
    jenniferfultz14 Posts: 3 Member
    Options