Switching up lifting?

Options
cnbbnc
cnbbnc Posts: 1,267 Member
I've been lifting for six months now, and have been following ice cream fitness for the past three. I like the program, and I've been able to keep bumping up the weights which is good.

I'm trying to recomp, and I feel like what I'm doing now is primarily working on improving my strength. That isn't a bad thing at all, but would there be any more benefit for me if I decrease the weight and increase reps rather than stick with primarily 5x5 of a higher weight?

Just starting to wonder if I should switch it up somehow because simply building strength really isn't my primary goal.

Replies

• tillerstouch
    tillerstouch Posts: 608 Member
    Options
    What is your goal? Muscle size? Muscle endurance?

5x5 is typically used for strength gains, which by your post you already know. If you don't care about strength gains then yeah switch to a program that is made for whatever your goal are.

Adding reps and being around 10 is typically used for muscle size and over 15 reps typically muscle endurancd. Instead of just adding reps to your current program you you probably want to find an actual program designed for your goals.
  • cnbbnc
    Options
    Now that I'm more comfortable with what I'm doing, my goal is to build some muscle/drop fat.
    Ok. Any input on a program that's better suited?
  • Chieflrg
    Chieflrg Posts: 9,097 Member
    edited February 2016
    Options
    Usually easiest to build with a bulk and drop fat with a cut. Recomps seem real difficult to do personally but can be done, just way more patience and your cals/macros must be on point which isn't easy.

If you want to build muscle typically a rep range of 8-12 is best though you will build with any program if you have a progressive overload, hit your macros for your goal.