Confused about my caloric intake

Options
So I've been eating around 1200 calories a day for the past 8 months. I occasionally eat out and go above this and for almost a month I wasn't paying attention to calories much. But I just recently calculated my BMR and found that it's 1400 calories. I've been eating less than that about 90% of the time since last June. Is it made to consume less than your calculated BMR? I feel like it would be and now I'm afraid I've caused some metabolic damage and I'm thinking maybe I soils eat more but I'm afraid to gain weight

Replies

• CassidyScaglione
    CassidyScaglione Posts: 673 Member
    Options
    You have to eat at a deficit to lose weight. That's what mfp is for
  • Br3ntG
    Br3ntG Posts: 29 Member
    Options

Exactly. Eat less than your BMR to lose weight. Eat more than your BMR to gain weight.
  • Ready2Rock206
    Ready2Rock206 Posts: 9,488 Member
    Options
    Br3ntG wrote: »

Exactly. Eat less than your BMR to lose weight. Eat more than your BMR to gain weight.

Nope. Your BMR is the calories you need if you're in a coma. Eat less than your TDEE to lose weight - eat more than your TDEE to gain. You shouldn't eat less than BMR except maybe in cases where you're extremely overweight.
  • chandanista
    chandanista Posts: 986 Member
    Options
    No you should eat less than your TDEE but you should not go below BMR for long periods of time.

I'd bump it up to BMR personally.
  • Terraforcejenny
    Terraforcejenny Posts: 47 Member
    Options
    Your BMR is if you were at your most sedentary; this is you not exercising, not standing for most of the day, etc. This is what you should eat to maintain basic functions; you can go below it, but your body wont be burning fat effeciently, etc (you'll start getting slim but losing muscle, you'll start becoming nutrient deficient, etc).