Low carb macros anyone?

Options
Hello
Just curious to know what r ur macros if ur doing low carb and did u succeed with that?

Ps: I started low carb due to pcos but a bit confused about the whole process:)

Replies

• TeaBea
    TeaBea Posts: 14,517 Member
    Options
    When you reduce carbs you need to increase fats.

Here's a low carb group: http://community.myfitnesspal.com/en/group/394-low-carber-daily-forum-the-lcd-group
  • yarwell
    yarwell Posts: 10,477 Member
    Options
    5, 10 or 15% carbs, 20 or 25% protein, maybe 30 at a push, fats to make it 100.
  • jennkaufer89
    jennkaufer89 Posts: 69 Member
    Options
    I divide my macros evenly between fat and protein (40 %), with carbs at 20 %. This is my first time really focusing on macros instead of just "calories in v. out", and it's been a struggle to hit my carb goals - but I'm taking it one day at a time!!
  • nvmomketo
    nvmomketo Posts: 12,019 Member
    Options
    I have gone very low carb high fat with a ketogenic diet. My macros are about 5% carbs, 20% protein and 75% fat ( about <20g, 70g, and 110g). Fat is usually over 50%. Low carb can go up to 100g or 150g carbs depending on who you talk too. Macro wise, that could be as high as 30% on a lower calorie diet; I tend not to think 150g of carbs is low carb if one is eating only 1200kcal per day. Under 20% for carbs seems more common.

For me, LCHF as worked very well. It cut my sugar cravings right out and my appetite was reduced. If I eat at a deficit I tend to lose weight faster than most calculations would expect, and if I eat a lot (over 2200-2500kcal) I don't regain a thing - even without exercise.

Plus it helped my health. My BG is much lower, I have less pain, more energy (after the initial week when I let my sodium, magnesium and potassium get low) and my hypoglycaemic episodes are a thing of the past.

Do check out the group listed above. They are a very helpful bunch, and the atmosphere is very friendly.

Best wishes.