Lessons I've learnt...

Options
Hello, my first post! I just wanted to say that MFP has changed and continues to change my life. I've been tracking my food and calories for a couple of years and have lost 10.5 STONE. I look and feel completely different to my larger days. I've got a couple more stone to loose before I'll be happy but i thought I'd share a few thoughts I've learnt along the way.
1. Motivation is everything - i think you've got to hit rock bottom and really want to change before it can happen - regardless what app, gym or tools you us. Until i hit mine, i would yoyo different diets.
2. Surround yourself with good 'safe' food and people and distance yourself from weaknesses and bad influences. Chocolate was one of my weaknesses - but I've learnt to eat less with higher grade dark/milk chocolate. I also get small 'bite sized' and not big bars though - as the tendancy is always there to finish the bar once it's open.
3. If you're not loosing weight and tracking as per app suggests - I've found that i should be eating about 200cals less than what the app thinks to loose a few pounds per week. Remember not all bodies are the same and be aware if you're doing everything right and still not loosing weight, your metabolism might be processing food/weight slower
4. Listen to your body - your cravings might not be food cravings - try drinking first.
5. Keep healthy snacks and bitesized treats for when you really get the urge for badness!
6. Read! I found lots of good tips in weight management books, and lots of interesting info about different food types and there effect on your body.
7. Find exercise that doesn't feel like exercise. Walking with headphones on is great and i enjoyed raquet sports - working out stealthly!
8. Learn to eat slower and enjoy your food. I've learnt that it takes time to tell me that I'm full but if i eat slower and drink with meals then i now eat a lot less and still feel full.