Question for the experts out there.

Options
Hello guys. I'm new to eating healthy and exercising and I would like to incorporate strength training as well as cardio. I know that in order to gain muscle your body needs to be in a caloric surplus and protein needs must be met. So my question is what results will I get if I strength train, do cardio and eat at a caloric deficit? I'm currently eating under (1650 calories a day) I'm 23, 5'10, 200lbs

Replies

• shadow2soul
    shadow2soul Posts: 7,692 Member
    Options
    Minimize LBM loss
  • rankinsect
    rankinsect Posts: 2,238 Member
    Options
    It's not an absolute truth that you can't build any muscle in a deficit. You can build some, but it's always going to be less and slower than if you were in a surplus, and you won't be able to reach your body's full genetic potential for muscle, eventually you'd hit a ceiling where you couldn't progress more without reducing the deficit or generating a surplus, but most people can build some.

Particularly if you're new to strength training, you can still see gains early on. Regardless of whether you gain or maintain, you're always better off doing the strength training.
  • usmcmp
    usmcmp Posts: 21,220 Member
    Options
    If you are just starting out with training then you will gain some muscle. If you are lifting, getting adequate protein and eating at a deficit you will lose mostly fat (rather than fat and muscle).
  • Rocknut53
    Rocknut53 Posts: 1,794 Member
    Options
    rankinsect wrote: »
    It's not an absolute truth that you can't build any muscle in a deficit. You can build some, but it's always going to be less and slower than if you were in a surplus, and you won't be able to reach your body's full genetic potential for muscle, eventually you'd hit a ceiling where you couldn't progress more without reducing the deficit or generating a surplus, but most people can build some.