Why is Slow Weight Loss Good?

Options
Honestly, I have always been very lucky and have never really had to watch my weight. But these last couple of years, I really let myself go, so I am a bit new to this.

My question is why is slow weight loss considered good? Why should I not try to lose more than 2lbs a week?

Replies

• size102b
    size102b Posts: 1,370 Member
    Options
    Tbh I've lost weight loads times in chunks of 20-70lbs in 27 years
    It's better to lose slow as you'll more likely to lose fat than muscle by this I mean v v v low calories = you'll body will eat it's muscle it's hard to stick at you get moody and tired
    Fast weightloss everyone loves to have and see it's human nature but I know after many years yoyoing you've got to change your life style or you'll yoyo and that's demoralising
    So use a good calorie calculator to work your calories out
    Healthyeater.com calorie calculator is good
    Have treats
    Find an exercise you enjoy
    Change your lifestyle

Good luck
  • treehopper1987
    treehopper1987 Posts: 505 Member
    Options
    I think in general, weight loss that is slower tends to represent lifestyle changes and not crash dieting. Depending on how much you weigh, you could lose more than 2 pounds a week.
  • shannie018
    shannie018 Posts: 57 Member
    Options
    Thank you. Right now, I'm just using the 1,200 calorie guideline and logging my food. I've been walking a bit to start to build my body back up. I've just seen it mentioned on here a lot about slow weight loss and wanted to learn about the importance and why it is better. I definitely don't want to lose muscle or damage my body anymore than I already have, so it's good to know that slower weight loss tends to be more from fat than muscle. Thanks again for the knowledge. :)
  • jemhh
    jemhh Posts: 14,261 Member
    edited March 2016
    Options
    shannie018 wrote: »