Do you limit Fruit?

Options
Hello
I am new to MFP and calorie counting so this question may have been asked already.
I come from a background of doing low carb diets, mainly ideal protein, so I have cut out fruit completely in the past because I was told it was high in sugar.
My question for you calorie counters is do you cut back on fruit? I'm having an apple, orange, banana and half a grapefruit most days, is that too much? I'm only allowed 1200 calories a day but it's the only place I get my carbs from because I have eliminated grains for now. However, since I only have 1200 calories I'm finding 1/3 of my calorie intake is coming from fruits. Because I am short, under 5 feet I find it hard to lose weight so I'm finding that when I cut back on carbs I tend to lose and it keeps me motivated when I lose.

I also workout 4-5 times a week, twice with a trainer so I do get some exercise calories on some days which I use as well.

Replies

• Sabine_Stroehm
    Sabine_Stroehm Posts: 19,263 Member
    Options
    I dont, but if I was eating only 1200 (I'm not) and 1/3 of my calories came from fruit I would starve to death.
  • Michaelg235
    Michaelg235 Posts: 1,093 Member
    Options
    I never limit fruit basically that's my go to move when I want chips or something apple or chips I'll take the Apple
  • sugom2
    sugom2 Posts: 93 Member
    Options
    Hello, I am also under 5 feet and have found that I loose more weight if a do include fruit into my diet. I also watch my carbs. What I have found to work is fruit in the morning with my smoothie (I choose to use Shakeology as my choice of smoothie because of the additional nutrients--some people rag on it). During the work week, I eat high protein and vegetables at lunch and dinner also includes high protein ad veggies. I don't eat bread or pasta and if I do, it is limited to the weekend. Eating this way I have lost 20 pounds and moving on to my next 15 to maintain.
  • Trinique34
    Trinique34 Posts: 53 Member