Doctor said 1000 calories

Options
Hello all, so I went for my checkup at the doctor and we discussed my weight. He also runs a weight loss clinic along with his family practice. He suggested I cut to 1000 calories a day and no more than 25 mg of fat a day.

Isn't that too low calorie? I've been logging consisently for 2 weeks (open diary take a look). I average from 900 to 1100 day. Fat grams avg 24-30.

My BMR is 1294
TDEE is not much more than that maybe 1350.
5' 2"
CW: 143.2
I've lost around 2 pounds since 02/22.
% of body fat is 34%

Need your expertise and advice. :)

Replies

• blueboxgeek
    blueboxgeek Posts: 574 Member
    Options
    Personally, I would get a second opinion. I'd say eat at least your BMR and maybe get some exercise if you can to give you a few calories to play around with. But I am not an expert. Your doctor is an expert but I would still question anyone who recommended 1000 calories a day.

Is there any medical reason as to why the doctor suggested so low?
  • girlinahat
    girlinahat Posts: 2,956 Member
    Options
    my gut feeling is that your doctor is mistaken. You weigh the same as me, yet I am 2 inches shorter, and I am aiming for an average of 1390 with exercise.

You don't have a massive amount to lose, so eating below your BMR at this point is probably not wise. Also, eating fat does not make a person fat. Fat helps satiety.
  • smotheredincheese
    smotheredincheese Posts: 559 Member
    Options
    You're only 143 pounds as it is and have already lost 2 pounds since you started logging. What you're doing is working so I can't see any reason why you would need to cut your calories and fat to such an extreme. Did your doctor explain why he was recommending those limits?
  • LivingtheLeanDream
    LivingtheLeanDream Posts: 13,342 Member
    edited March 2016
    Options
    yes get a second opinion - its not that your overweight by much...