Weightlifting more than cardio?

Options
I'm just starting out my weight loss journey again. I gained a lot of weight two years ago and lost 3 stone without really trying. But I've kind of plateaued where I am and when I do try it doesn't seem to do anything??
But my real question is has anyone reached their goal or lost weight through mainly weightlifting? I don't mind cardio but I enjoy lifting more! And if so what kind of lifting should I do/what is your usual routine?

Replies

• usmcmp
    usmcmp Posts: 21,220 Member
    Options
    I moved this to a better section for you.
  • nfr92xx
    nfr92xx Posts: 13 Member
    Options
    Thank you so much!
  • nfr92xx
    Options
    Thank you that's really useful. I definitely need to weigh all of my foods. I was only really weighing oats, pasta and rice. I live in a rural area so my cardio consists of a lot of walking through the fields and up the mountain which I enjoy so cardio is okay for me but maybe I need to switch it up in the gym a bit more. More challenge based cardio rather than just going for X amount of time. But thank you so much for that!
  • Sumiblue
    Sumiblue Posts: 1,597 Member
    Options
    I lost weight (fat) because of deficit but did mostly weight training. I walk for cardio, too.
  • kellylseguin
    kellylseguin Posts: 9 Member
    Options
    Right now I'm trying to build muscle. I eat lots and workout 4 days a week. 3 days are heavy lifting circuit training and the 4th day is abs with about 20 mins of intense cardio. I am losing inches, seeing muscle build and losing a tiny bit of weight. In my opinion, lifting weights is more important than cardio. I also prefer lifting over cardio and it seems to be working for me. :)
  • arditarose
    arditarose Posts: 15,573 Member
    Options
    I started with both, but always mainly lifting. Eventually I dropped off the cardio all together. I hate cardio and like my physique better when I'm concentrating on lifting.
  • KiwiLifter