OMG SHAKSHUKA!!!!!

Options
MlleKelly
MlleKelly Posts: 356 Member
OMG you guys!!!!

I'd never in my life heard of shakshuka before. For those of you in the boat that I was in, it's basically eggs poached in a spicy tomato sauce, flavored with cumin (and other lovely seasonings). The origins are Jewish/Libyan, so it's got a lot of really nice North African flavors but is vegetarian. Generally, it's a breakfast dish, but I'm having it for dinner right now and OMG IT'S AMAZING!!!!

It's one of the best things I've made in a while, and I'm a pretty darn good cook ;)

Here's the recipe I followed: http://www.budgetbytes.com/2016/04/smoky-white-bean-shakshuka/

Here's a picture of mine!!! (With a scoop cut out of it because that's what I'm eating!!!!)53712arlkpt9.jpg

You guys...seriously...TRY THIS NOW!!!!

Replies

• ilfaith
    ilfaith Posts: 16,769 Member
    Options
    I love this dish...and the beans seem like a nice addition. I'l have to try this recipe.
  • Francl27
    Francl27 Posts: 26,371 Member
    Options
    It looks tasty but I don't like spicy food, lol.
  • Queenmunchy
    Queenmunchy Posts: 3,380 Member
    Options
    crazyravr wrote: »
    Francl27 wrote: »
    It looks tasty but I don't like spicy food, lol.

Its not spicy ie. hot. You just use a lot of spices so that this dish is VERY flavorful. If you have never tried it, you should. Amazing.

Yep. Sometimes I make a batch of the base so I can take some of it and cook my egg fresh each morning. Works really well for single servings in a hurry.
  • laur357
    laur357 Posts: 896 Member
    Options
    I eat this all the time. So good! I do make mine hot-spicy, and I add chickpeas, garlic, and loads of spinach to mine.
  • MlleKelly
    Options
    I made mine spicy...I added dried ghost chili ;) You can completely cut out the red pepper flakes if you wanted to, but the smoked paprika is a MUST. It's not spicy, but it has SO much flavor.
  • ralostaz2000
    ralostaz2000 Posts: 135 Member