another newbie intro :) (150 to lose)

Hello! my name is Kim and I just started on my journey. I am new to my fitness pal but I love it so far. I am still trying to figure out the website and I honestly am confused when I try to enter something like chicken breasts. There are so many entries that come up!
I am 45 and i have 4 kids (who ironically are all health nuts) My weight loss journey started last week when I got on the scale and saw that I weighed 292. I was floored as I had no clue that my number was that high. I knew I had to do something. I joined weight watchers (the online only) and found myself here too. I log my food in both places and I know it is tedious but it makes me extra aware of what I am putting in my body. I like logging everything in here though because it breaks down the nutrients for me.

I am looking for friends and any advice!!

Replies

• fairylady1962
    fairylady1962 Posts: 36 Member
    Hi Kim, I'm Penny I too started at a very similar weight as you and Like you had no idea I had got so big. I have been doing WW online and MFP since last September. Both are really good in helping you eat healthier and being accountable, but it also helps to have friends who understand its not always that easy and can help support you on the way. You can do this. Very happy to be friends
  • thegreatcanook
    thegreatcanook Posts: 2,419 Member
    Welcome Kim! you can do this! MFP and this community helped me lose over 100 lbs. Tracking your food and moving more does it. Feel free to add me for support.
  • amyn73
    amyn73 Posts: 241 Member