Best body fat scale out there & thoughts on losing BF

Options
pjoh127
pjoh127 Posts: 25 Member
edited June 2016 in Health and Weight Loss
Hi folks,
I am working to reduce my body fat % but it has been slow!! I am 38, 5.4" and currently weigh 130lbs. I have a Weight Gurus scale at home that shows my current BF % at 24.1. However every two weeks I work out with a trainer and his body fat scale (one of those handheld ones- I think the brand is Tanita) shows it at 30%. Which one do you think is correct? Is there one out there that is accurate?
Also, insight into the science of losing BF would be great. I have been counting my macros for the past six months, my trainer had me adjust them to 50% protein, 30% fat and 20% carbs of total daily calorie intake goal which is currently at 1290 calories a day. I have never exceeded the protein goals (always at around 75% of my daily goal) but occasionally will exceed the fat or carbs. Never the total calorie intake though.
Thanks.

Replies

• pjoh127
    Options
    maxit wrote: »
    These body fat scales - hand held or step scale type - are notoriously inaccurate, being greatly influenced by amount of hydration. In one test I read, the level of so-called fat rose 10% after the person drank a large glass of water.

Wow and LOL! Is there anything accurate out there to measure body fat? When people post their BF% on the forum, how are they measuring it?
  • VisofSer
    VisofSer Posts: 130 Member
    Options