Using more baking powder to lose weight idea?

Options
My mom made pancakes today and accidentally used too much baking powder. The pancakes turned out to be 2x fluffier than usual and I felt satisfied eating half of what I usually do. I was curious for those who are losing weight if this might be a good trick? If you want to bake something sweet as a treat and use more baking powder, you could have more volume to the treat for the same amount of calories, and it could satisfy you quicker!

Replies

• Karen_can_do_this
    Karen_can_do_this Posts: 1,150 Member
    Options
    Um I am no expert, but I highly doubt it. But it's a good thought. But whatever works for you :smile: just keep up with your weighing and logging foods
  • WBB55
    WBB55 Posts: 4,131 Member
    Options
    and/or also eat on a smaller plate to trick the brain into thinking there's more food on the plate.

The eyes, nose and tongue are all a natural part of the "satisfaction" feeling we get when we eat. There is a feeling of accomplishment/satisfaction from seeing a full plate of food gradually become empty.
  • randomtai
    randomtai Posts: 9,003 Member
    Options
    That sounds gross.
  • RodaRose
    RodaRose Posts: 9,562 Member
    Options
    The visual works for people. Egg whites can also make things fluffier.
  • brrrrito
    brrrrito Posts: 39 Member
    Options
    i think baking powder is really high in sodium so i'm not sure that would work very well
  • StealthHealth
    StealthHealth Posts: 2,417 Member
    Options
    In this case the volume (because it is additional air) is irrelevant once you've chewed, swallowed, and it's in your stomach. So, by eating half you're getting half the calories and (in my case) this would mean that I'd be hungrier sooner than otherwise.

But hey, if it works for you - go for it.
  • trigden1991
    trigden1991 Posts: 4,658 Member
    Options
    I am going to add baking powder to everything to reap the fat burning, spot reducing effects!