How long does it take for lifting water retention to fall off?

Options
I added lifting back into my regimen after my diet bet ended. Since then, the scale is up about 4 pounds in that week and a half time. I know i am weighing and measuring my food as i have lost about 26 pounds and am rolling at about a 1000 cal deficit a day. So i am 100% sure i haven't eaten over 28k extra calories. The lifting is the variable that has changed. I lift 4 days a week and do some cardio 5-6 days. When should this start to fall off? I will still lose weight while lifting right?

Replies

• jemhh
    jemhh Posts: 14,261 Member
    Options
    As long as you are eating in a calorie deficit, yes, you will continue to lose fat. I don't know how long it takes for most people. My experience was that during the month when I started lifting, I gained 3 pounds and by the end of the next month I was back down 3 pounds, meaning a net loss of 0 pounds over 2 months but I had fat loss during that time (very apparent visual differences despite being the same weight.) So for me, it took 8-9 weeks after starting lifting to really see the scale moving more.
  • jayjay_90
    jayjay_90 Posts: 83 Member
    Options
    The short answer is it'll be different for everyone. Wait a week or two (if it doesn't fall off before then). I wouldn't worry about it, just keep working on your lifting program. You will still lose weight yes, as long as you are accurate and sure you're in a deficit.
  • LivingtheLeanDream
    LivingtheLeanDream Posts: 13,342 Member
    Options
    It's different for everyone but when I started consistently lifting last year the scale spiked up by around 3lbs for around 3 weeks before it went back down. My weight fluctuates daily by 0.5-1lb but thats completely normal, owing to hormones/carbs/sodium/workouts.
  • Brocksterdanza
    Brocksterdanza Posts: 208 Member
    Options