How important is sodium?

Options
I cut out sodium/salt drastically from my diet when I started training because of the stigma of water weight and general health but recently I've been feeling dizzy and disorientated which are signs of low sodium levels and water/sodium imbalances which bearing in mind I drink about 1.5 gallons of water per day made me think. I go under 1000mg of sodium per day yet I exercise for 2.5 hours 6x a week. Am I not replacing my sodium levels? How much sodium should an athlete or anyone into exercise consume?

Replies

• RodaRose
    RodaRose Posts: 9,562 Member
    Options
    That is too much water. The eight cups a day that MFP recommends is good for most people. Keep in mind that we get liquids in our foods too.
  • Gallowmere1984
    Gallowmere1984 Posts: 6,626 Member
    edited July 2016
    Options
    Getting Sodium and Potassium too low, and water too high will poison you. Sodium is not the devil. Get that intake back up. You may not be following my WoE, but from someone who runs keto, I learned the hard way that too little sodium will make you feel like total *kitten*. I pull in around 5000-6000 mg per day. Though you probably won't need that much, unless you specifically have high blood pressure, there's no reason to cut it as low as you have.
  • callumwalker1995
    callumwalker1995 Posts: 389 Member
    Options
    Getting Sodium and Potassium too low, and water too high will poison you. Sodium is not the devil. Get that intake back up. You may not be following my WoE, but from someone who runs keto, I learned the hard way that too little sodium will make you feel like total *kitten*. I pull in around 5000-6000 mg per day. Though you probably won't need that much, unless you specifically have high blood pressure, there's no reason to cut it as low as you have.

I realise that now mate! Would you say 2000 is still too low? I'm just afraid of the bloating and increase in weight from too much sodium
  • callumwalker1995