Anyone over 60 with weight loss success story?

Options
I'm 61, seem to have no metabolism anymore. Having a very tough time losing weight. Would love to hear from people in their 60s who have had success losing weight.

Replies

• SavedByGrace26356
    SavedByGrace26356 Posts: 544 Member
    Options
    Hello Rockyniki: I've always had a hard time losing since I have Hashimoto's disease and take medication. Have you had your thyroid checked out. I know our metabolism slows some as we age and we have to work harder. I'm new to MFP and find that preplanning my dinner, drinking more water, and doing light exercises is helping the scale move a little. Please friend me if you're looking for friends.
  • SavedByGrace26356
    SavedByGrace26356 Posts: 544 Member
    Options
    Raina, you're amazing! Great photo.
  • annc3333
    annc3333 Posts: 16 Member
    Options
    Rockyniki,

I have always been a pretty good loser, in fact, I lost 75 pounds in my mid-40s and kept it off for an entire decade. But after taking a medication known to cause weight gain, I have not been able to lose a pound--I was on it for a year and gained 10 in that time even with trying hard not to. And in the 1.5 years since I've been off of it I have put on another five.

I have tried over and over to lose even five pounds. I have been obsessively careful to weigh every bite. I have double and triple checked the items I eat a lot for accuracy. I only use listings from USDA figuring they are the most accurate. I keep my calories around 1300 and my carbs around 100 or so.