The Big Dairy Debate

Options
forlaura
forlaura Posts: 27 Member
Hey, guys, hope all are well... I'm a newbie around here and could use some feedback!
With all the research, (and some conflicting at that), I am looking for a realistic and evidence based approach to incorporating dairy, especially yogurt, into my day. Are you a member of the full fat, the nonfat or the low-reduced fat dairy camp, and what are your reasons for adopting this belief that one favors the other? Not a fan of nonfat myself...
I favor a low to moderate carb, no sugar diet as blood sugar control for preventative reasons is a priority. Have a great day, and I appreciate any information offered!

Replies

• lemurcat12
    lemurcat12 Posts: 30,886 Member
    edited July 2016
    Options
    It's just personal preference.

I LIKE low fat best, and don't find it any more or less filling by amount as compared to whole (talking about plain greek yogurt and cottage cheese, as I don't drink milk). Therefore, it makes sense for me to take advantage of the lower calories and higher protein per calorie benefits and eat that. I usually end up using my saved dairy fat calories in some other way, like for artisan or imported cheeses.

Some people find that whole is tastier for them so worth the extra calories or fills them up more.

I don't believe that either is better from a nutritional standpoint, it just depends on you and how it fits into your day.

I assume by "no sugar" you mean no added sugar, as all yogurts have sugar (lactose). The amount in full fat isn't much different than the amount in low fat by volume.
  • forlaura
    Options
    @lemurcat12 Hey, and thank you for your reply...
    Yes, very good point... I usually incorporate the low fat yogurt and full fat cheese into my macros... I drink plant based milk, myself. Thanks again!
  • pomegranatecloud
    pomegranatecloud Posts: 812 Member
    Options