Binge eating is great, or is it?

Options
alasdairgeddes3
alasdairgeddes3 Posts: 3 Member
edited July 2016 in Goal: Maintaining Weight
Are there ever times when you decide to forget about being healthy for the day and eat as much of whatever you like? If it's your birthday, Christmas, your graduation or even your wedding day then would you see that as a good enough reason to imobalize yourself with food?
I say this because yesterday I graduated from university and I ate a lot. That's actually an incredible understatement- I ate like a starved hamster, I was Oliver Twist at the all you can eat buffet. I had at least 3 heaped plates of cake and sandwiches followed by a bowl of strawberries with whipped cream. Then, after I had just about recovered, it was time to head to the indian for a lamb vindaloo with a plate of mushroom rice and two chicken stuffed naan breads, all washed down with beer. I could not stand up. I would guess it was over 3000 - 4000 cals. Such a great day.
So would you ever do that? What's your thoughts?

Replies

• JeromeBarry1
    JeromeBarry1 Posts: 10,182 Member
    Options
    You graduated from university. Congratulations. Get a job. Get more congratulations. Then get a tax bill. We're still trying to figure out why we do this to ourselves.
  • lithezebra
    lithezebra Posts: 3,670 Member
    Options
    I don't enjoy binge eating at all. It feels like a horrible, degrading way to avoid facing my feelings directly. I haven't had a real binge in years, and I still despise any emotional eating that I do out of stress, boredom or sadness, because it takes away from experiencing my feelings.

I'm okay with eating together to celebrate friendship.
  • Gisel2015
    Gisel2015 Posts: 4,138 Member
    Options