Anyone here love rock climbing?

Options
jbenji07
jbenji07 Posts: 10 Member
Hey! I got this app because I want to lose a few lbs and become a stronger climber. I'm still about 25 lbs heavier than my ideal climbing weight.

I've been climbing about 2.5 years. I've climbed all over in that time... Smith Rock, OR; City of Rocks, ID; Maple Canyon, UT; Horseshoe Canyon, AR; Red River Gorge, KY; and a bunch of other places. I love it! I'm just starting to get into trad climbing.

Any way, add me if you'd like!

Replies

• mymeggie
    mymeggie Posts: 6 Member
    Options
    Hey! I have been looking for some climbers on here. I am also looking to lose some weight for the same purpose, about 15-20lbs. I have been climbing for 6-7 years now. I am stuck at a plateau (11a-b/v6-7)... just trying to break through it. I live close to the Gunks and frequent the Red as well. I am a boulderer at heart, but I love sport and sometimes trad too. I am hoping to be in shape for the Fall.
  • Athomemermaid
    Athomemermaid Posts: 29 Member
    Options
    I've always wanted to try! I imagine you need upper body strength.. which I don't have..
  • mymeggie
    mymeggie Posts: 6 Member
    edited August 2016
    Options
    @StrengthPowerStamina and @relroberts8 , a local climbing gym is a great place to start. It is a fun way to work out. Upper body strength comes surprisingly quick with just a few days a week at the climbing gym. When I started, I couldn't do a single pull-up, so it is possible to start with minimal upper body strength. You use a lot of your legs too.
  • Trailtramper74
    Trailtramper74 Posts: 135 Member
    Options
    I used to climb a little and do some bouldering, but I have been out of shape for a while. I would live to get back to it.
  • darrensurrey
    darrensurrey Posts: 3,942 Member
    Options
    I've always wanted to try! I imagine you need upper body strength.. which I don't have..