Slow metabolism? Or doing it wrong?

Options
Hi all, I'm new to MFP; I joined immediately after three unsuccessful months on Weight Watchers. I dipped down about a pound on MFP since joining a little over a week ago, but I seem to have gained it back already, and my diet is good! (I'm a 5 ft. tall female, eating between 1200-1400 kcals a day and exercising regularly -mostly cardio and calisthenics.)

I wouldn't normally post after only a week and a half, but this is on top of months on Weight Watchers with no results! I don't want to wait another three months to find out I'm doing it wrong!

Anyone have any ideas? Could I just have that slow of a metabolism and should I cut down to under 1200 cals a day? Are there better exercises for me? How do I fix this, I have at least 50 lbs to lose!!? Sure, I don't get the best sleep in the world and I'm occasionally stressed, but is that really enough to have NO results after rigidly following weight loss plans for months?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Has anyone else gone through this and figured it out? I don't consume sugar substitutes and I regularly eat fruit and veggies (without going over 1400 cals a day). I drink a metric crap-ton of water every day, too.

Thanks!!!

Replies

• queenliz99
    queenliz99 Posts: 15,317 Member
    Options
    One week on MFP is not long enough to determine if you are doing anything wrong yet. Do you use a food scale to weigh all your solids?
  • Arapacana1
    Arapacana1 Posts: 117 Member
    Options
    Do you weigh your food? Do you log absolutely everything? Inaccurate logging is the first thing that comes to mind.
  • TR0berts
    TR0berts Posts: 7,739 Member
    Options
    In addition to the above - is the exercise new? If so, you could very well be simply retaining excess water.
  • AliceDark
    AliceDark Posts: 3,886 Member
    Options