CAP BARBELL SITUATION

Options
I started the sl5×5 strength program as a complete novice in march of this year.

I purchased a CAP BARBELL weight bench set in march that was basically enough for a beginner.
About a week ago I had 80lbs on the bar deadlifting. As I went to lower the bar back down one of the metal pins holding the bar together fell on the floor.

For reference the bar is held together by two of these pins, the other one stayed attatched which allowed me to slowly lower the weigh to the floor without the 80lbs toppling my feet.

That was a very scary situation. I felt like I got out lucky and unscathed.
I contacted the retailer letting them know what happened. Unfortunately being a month out of my warranty I was told to contact CAP BARBELL.

I called them and left a message letting them know what happened. Two days later still no reply from CAP. I sent a follow up email letting them know again what happened, and the barbell seems defective as this shouldnt have happened.

This morning they replied back saying basically "too bad" and the bar isnt defective.
I feel like they are not really grasping the seriousness of the situation.

Someone could get hurt with the way this barbell is designed.
If I had been squatting or benching I would have been hurt.

So I'm left with plates and a barbell I cant use, and someone else might get hurt because no one cares to acknowledge this defect.
Do I have any recourse, or just suck it up?

Replies

• Lisa_Ookoo
    Lisa_Ookoo Posts: 134 Member
    Options
    Send letters to the Better Business Bureau and Consumer Reports. If the retailer and manufacturer have Facebook, twitter, or Instagram accounts, make complaints there. You can also give a bad review on Yelp. Keep complaining. Send a registered letter to the CEO of the manufacturer.
  • ummijaaz560
    ummijaaz560 Posts: 228 Member
    Options