• PaulaWallaDingDong
    PaulaWallaDingDong Posts: 4,641 Member
    edited September 2016
    Options
    I'm offended by the suggestion.
  • pebble4321
    pebble4321 Posts: 1,132 Member
    Options
    Hell no. (Having just enjoyed a latte, time for a long black soon).

Count the calories, pay attention to any impact from the caffeine (I only have coffee in the morning as it keeps me awake if I have it later in the day), and enjoy!
  • sarahthes
    sarahthes Posts: 3,252 Member
    Options
    daniip_la wrote: »
    Giving up coffee?

Haha. Hahaha. hahahahahahaHAHAHA

I'm a chemistry grad student. When I defend my dissertation, I'm putting coffee on my acknowledgements list, and that's not even a joke.

ETA: As a chemist, I can tell you that caffeine is not bad for you unless you have some type of sensitivity to it. Or if you manage to exceed the acceptable amount of ingestion, which is a lot of caffeine. In my massive amount of coffee drinking, I never even manage to come close to the limit.

I work in a commercial lab. I drink ridiculous amounts of coffee. At least I leave my cup at my desk and don't take it I to the lab? One guy I work with used to leave his water bottle in the dry chemical room...
  • cinnag4225
    cinnag4225 Posts: 126 Member
    Options
    One cup will increase stress (and other things such as irritable bowel symptoms) if you're sensitive to stimulants, and it will increase the likelihood of belly fat if you're drinking it with a lot of sugar and/or cream. Everything I have read (and been told by my doctor and dietician) agrees a cup a day with a little bit of cream and sugar is not going to do any harm unless there is an underlying condition. Furthermore, many studies have shown that caffeine acts as an appetite suppressant and that a small amount of coffee prior to a workout can help improve performance and metabolism.