Ladies on a 1800 cutting diet?

Options

Replies

• selina884
    selina884 Posts: 826 Member
    Options
    Vortex88 wrote: »
    That is not how any of this works :D

Just to explain... I am not saying you can't be losing at 1800...I'm saying you can't be losing more than at 1200-1700...

This is absolutely wrong. I also get much leaner at higher calories. I've been tracking macros almost every week since 2012 and have repeatedly found that I am leaner when cals aren't too low. There is a sweet spot about 200-500 below TDEE which seems to work best for everyone. You have to experiment but I have seen many people report something similar.

I know exactly where you are coming from but I dont want to open a new can of worms.
  • savithny
    savithny Posts: 1,200 Member
    Options

Just to explain... I am not saying you can't be losing at 1800...I'm saying you can't be losing more than at 1200-1700...
    Well, we don't know her particular math, but we do know that for many people, larger deficits produce larger metabolic slowdowns.

So if 1800 calories produces a 10% slowdown of her TDEE, but 1200 calories produces a 20% slowdown of her TDEE? Quick math using 2000 as TDEE for ease of computation suggests that eating 1200 calories a day vs. 1800 calories a day would create a slowdown that erases nearly 400 calories of deficit.

It also is likely that for some, higher targets are easier to hit and produce less binging/logging errors.
    Combine that with a smaller reduction of metabolism and I can definitely believe that soemoen would have more success with a higher goal (aka smaller deficit)
  • Clawsal
    Clawsal Posts: 255 Member
    Options
    I have a goal of 1500 kcal, but averaged 1600kcal a day this month and losing steadily.