Deadlift benefits let me know your thoughts

Options
13»

Replies

• peaceout_aly
    peaceout_aly Posts: 2,018 Member
    Options
    They always make my back hurt like hell the day after, but so worth it. Since I incorporated them, my hamstrings and glutes have popped significantly (although it could be the hip thrusts too, incorporated them around the same time). It's all about the form. Make sure you keep your legs stiff, strong and clench your muscles. Go slow, don't just pop the bar up and down quickly.

I had this as I started lifting heavier. I tried a lifting belt for the first time last week, deadlifted 300 lbs, and no sore back! I'm definitely purchasing my own lifting belt as I continue on.

Oh I'm gonna have to try that! My problem may also be that I do them on my power leg day and then do a more upper back/shoulder oriented work out the following day and they kind of clash together and use those already sore muscles. Definitely trying out the belt though! Thank you :)
  • nossmf
    nossmf Posts: 9,695 Member
    Options
    The best part about the deadlift is how much it applies to real life. Honestly, how often do you have occasion to lie on your back and push a heavy weight off your chest? Now contrast that to how often we deadlift things in real life: pick up socks from the floor, pick up a sleeping child, pick up a chair to move to a different room. Sure, they may sound very light weight, but you're also deadlifting when you help pick up a couch or television.